My Sister

5 Apr

We’ve been through so much together

When the dust settled

We were all that was left

It was always this way

From the minute I learned to hold your bottle

And change your diapers

We hid from the world together

We figured out who we were together

We made mistakes together

I didn’t know that day

When I sat in the car with Mama

And waved at the figure in the window of the hospital

What you would mean to me

They brought you home wrapped in a crochet blanket

It had been raining and the brick walkway was wet

When mother stepped from the car, I ran outside to greet you

You looked like me when I was born

They brought you inside

and made me sit in the chair

Then you were put into my arms

I remember feeling terrified I would drop you

But I looked down and you slept peacefully

I had no idea what wonderful friends we would become

And now we laugh and giggle like we did as children

We have a secret language only we know

We have a connection we can’t begin to understand

We don’t always understand what the other is going through

But we listen

We try to shake the other out of our stupor

We’re just there

I had no idea on this day

All those years ago

My best friend was being born

I love you sissy

24 Responses to “My Sister”

  1. Caity April 5, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    Found you through HookeyMonster!

    What a sweet post and I am so envious. I have always wanted a sister. Even another brother, but there really isn’t anything like the bonds between sisters. My cousin was like a sister growing up but we grew apart and also we lived across the state from each other except for one year. Nice blog! :) I’ll be back.

    • Cold Dead Heart April 5, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

      Thanks so much! Of course there’s been times when I rued the day I had a sister..lol. But we really are best friends. Thanks for stopping by and look forward to chatting :)

  2. The Mouse April 5, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Well said.

  3. Thestrugglershandbook April 5, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Aw…very sweet. That was really nice.

  4. maggsworld April 5, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Wonderful tribute – shot through with love and connection. I am delighted you both have and value this bond. Earthing. BTW I adore the new background and style!!

    • Cold Dead Heart April 5, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

      Thanks so much :) It is really great even in adulthood we’re still close. And I’m glad you like the background! I needed something blue :)

      • maggsworld April 6, 2012 at 12:41 am #

        I think the background is spectacular.

  5. P. Graham April 6, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    This is beautiful! I’m almost envious of the relationship you have with her because my sister relationship sucks! lol Anyway, awesome picture and awesome poem. It’s cool you two are so close :)

    • Cold Dead Heart April 6, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      Thanks so much! Well, our relationship with our parents suck, so it is lucky we have each other. We also work together and have lunch every day. Hard to believe we got past the bratty kid sister phase :)

      • P. Graham April 6, 2012 at 11:07 am #

        Ha! Well I’m definitely happy for you :)

  6. Sam Zodiac April 6, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    A heartfelt lovemessage to your sis! I have to admit it moved me! :)

    • Cold Dead Heart April 6, 2012 at 11:15 am #

      Thanks so much :) Sometimes it’s nice to tell people how much they mean to you.

  7. Silving April 6, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    touchy and beautiful! I thought while reading it about my 2 little girls that are the best friends,even if of course they have their arguments, but seeing them, sometimes I wished I also had a sister,not only a brother ;)

  8. Perfecting Motherhood April 7, 2012 at 1:38 am #

    Lovely and sweet. I wish I was that close to my sister but I can’t say the same.

    • Cold Dead Heart April 7, 2012 at 11:57 am #

      We do have our moments, but it helps me to remember I’m the older one…we’ve really fallen into very supportive roles. I think it’s helped we no longer have or mother pitting us against each other.

      • Perfecting Motherhood April 7, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

        Haha, I hear you about the mother part. Unfortunately my mother still gets in between us but I also think the 6 years separating us and never being close in our childhood haven’t helped. I’m so glad my boys are only 19 months apart. They can get on each other’s nerves but play great together and are very close.

      • Cold Dead Heart April 8, 2012 at 8:46 am #

        I think that’s great about your sons. Yes, my sister and I are 4.5 years apart, so there definitely was a time when I was moving on and she resented it. But then we found each other again in our twenties. You definitely need an ally in your corner and a sibling is wonderful for that. Makes me wish my daughter wasn’t an only child.

  9. Grumpy April 14, 2012 at 3:01 am #

    Seeps with the deepest of sibling love. Beautiful.

  10. 47whitebuffalo April 22, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    Can we trade? hmm? Your sis for my bro? Just for a little while? Pleassseeeee…… lol.

    • Cold Dead Heart April 22, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

      lol….only if he sings Karaoke…my sis and I were just having a sing off.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

