I see dead people

4 Aug

No seriously.

I didn’t know it until a few months ago, but there is a graveyard behind my home.  It had been covered by a thicket of weeds, roots and limbs that hid everything but the trees.  Once they cleared it away, there amongst the leaves were over forty headstones dating from the 1800’s.  As a child, I played amongst the graves because it was the only place to play.  As an adult, rather than find it morbid, I find it comforting.  I’m on the other side of the fence…at least for one more day.

21 Responses to “I see dead people”

  1. jmgoyder August 4, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Amazing and strangely beautiful!

  2. The Adventures of Twins August 4, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    I agree, strangely beautiful and haunting. ;)
    -Anika

  3. legionwriter August 4, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    Very cool and creepy at once

    • Cold Dead Heart August 4, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      Very creepy indeed…especially when I’m out walking the dog late at night.

  4. tricia linden August 4, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    Well at least you know your final resting place may not be far away! Okay, maybe not such a comfort. Still, a graveyard in your backyard, very interesting. I have an aunt that once lived across the street from a cemetery, but that was as close as I’ve ever gotten to living with the dead. Enjoy always, T

  5. Perfecting Motherhood August 5, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    I wonder how many graveyards are buried out there because of lack of maintenance. It’s spooky you just realized it but in a way, kind of nice for the people buried there to be found again.

    • Cold Dead Heart August 5, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      Yes, well..I think ignorance was bliss in my circumstance..lol.

  6. Virginia August 5, 2012 at 5:03 am #

    Very cool….in an eerie sort of way :)

  7. Expat Alien August 5, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    Very cool.

  8. silentlyheardonce August 5, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    They say people who live near cemeteries have peaceful sleeps.

    • Cold Dead Heart August 5, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      Hmmm maybe that’s true…but not always. I’m a notorious insomniac.

      • silentlyheardonce August 5, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

        Me too and there’s a cemetery about a mile and half from me.

  9. mysweatyshirt August 5, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    exactly like my aunt’s place. but theirs is a public chinese cemetery so they know the grave are there from the beginning. never understood why they lived there. scary at first since some people went for mojo doing (lotteries wish) but then got used to it.

    • Cold Dead Heart August 5, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      Yes, sometimes it can be downright unsettling to walk the dog and see the graves.

  10. ledrakenoir August 7, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    “They say people who live near cemeteries have peaceful sleeps” say “silentlyheardonce” – I’ve heard that too – and while I studied at university then I lived in a small apartment next door to a cemetery – never sleept better… ;-)

  11. Katrina August 9, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    I also played in graveyards as a child, and while I’ve seen spirits, I’ve never had a bad experience in or around a graveyard, since you didn’t know until recently about the graves, my guess is, they are all at peace, and you are lucky to have them as neighbors.

  12. Evelyn August 11, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    I dont really find graveyards creepy. they seem peaceful to me. and I LOVE old stones. great shot.

    • Cold Dead Heart August 11, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

      Thanks..I really like them too for whatever reason..and I’m a total voyeur on the stones…it’s interesting to read them.

      • Evelyn August 11, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

        I find the names and the dates very fascinating. instantly jumpstarts the imagination.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

