The Crash

23 Jun

Last night I was startled by the sound of thunder rumbling in the distance

A cacophany of crashes and then the pelting of rain on the windows

The basketball goal fell on the car

Another loud noise

Crash

Standing in the nighttime summer heat

The rain falling on my upturned face

Dark, so dark

No stars

No moon

Wondered where the bats had gone

They are no longer feeding at dusk

Moved on, I thought

Everything is moving on

The rumble

The roar

The crash that made me look up at the sky

I felt it to my soul

It felt better than anything had in a long time

A chance to make amends to friends who deserved better of me

A chance to move forward instead of standing still

A crash that threw me from the wreckage

I smiled as the rain washed me away

6 Responses to “The Crash”

  1. Emmanuel Ibok June 25, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    Smooth read you gave me with this…I enjoyed it…nice work.

  2. Cold Dead Heart June 25, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    Thank you..sometimes just free association is the best way to convey your thoughts.

  3. dustus June 26, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    Some of those last lines struck me on a gut level, especially “A chance to make amends to friends who deserved better of me” Can relate. Enjoying your poetry. thanks

    • Cold Dead Heart June 26, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

      Thanks for your comment. It’s true isn’t it. Sometimes we get caught up in our own lives we forget to be there for others.

  4. Kavita June 26, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    Fantastic! I immediately felt being teletransported to my couch, like I were the one lying down, eyes open, staring at the never ending darkness called sky, waiting to get washed away…
    Loved this! Thanks for sharing..

    Best Regards!

    • Cold Dead Heart June 26, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

      Thank you and sometimes we have to get washed away to find where we are supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

