Hmmmmmm

30 Jun

So I’ve returned..the prodigal daughter

More like the black sheep of the family

And no, my parents do not read my blog

My mother commented on my hair as soon as I walked through the door

She has been sighing heavily

And tut tutting

I’m in my grandmother’s room

Which has now become a shrine to a woman who died over a year ago

The last National Enquirer she was reading is right there on the table

The shelves are cluttered with bear figures and dauschunds

On the bottom shelf –

Two ornate glass jars containing the ashes of my dead grandparents

I keep looking over as if they are somehow watching me

There are enough plastic plants in the room to qualify as a funeral parlor

It is enough to be depressing

Instead, I’m optimistic

This is not the worst there is

Not by a long shot

2 Responses to “Hmmmmmm”

  1. Kavita July 1, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Ahh!! The reproach, the observations, the dare… quite marvelous!!! I loved the boldness in it all…

  2. Cold Dead Heart July 1, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    Thank you…let’s hope my parents don’t read it..haha

Leave a Reply

