Sprung

15 Jan

That’s it

I’m sloughing off winter

Cold to the bone

Ready for the sun to heat my skin again

Ready for the smell of soil

The sound of birds

The feel of warm rain plopping on my head

I’m ready to thaw

Even my heart

Bursting at the seams with what will be

Stretching my arms toward

You

The smile entirely your fault

Knowing even though the bitter is outside howling

It is spring between us

Not dampened by distance

or time

or the boulders we must climb

Joy just because it is

Waiting for you

To stomp in the shallow puddles

With our wellies

and laugh at it all

5 Responses to “Sprung”

  1. DaPoet January 16, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    After being stranded at home for 4 days last week when I couldn’t make it up the snow and ice covered hill beside my driveway. I’m sorta kinda ready for a day or two of spring like weather myself. 🙂

  2. Scotia Nightpoetry January 16, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Nicely written and very positive outlook, luv it – Brian

    • Cold Dead Heart January 17, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

      Thank you Brian. I’ve decided 2011 is my year of total positivity even if I’m freezing.

  3. bendedspoon January 16, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Yes to thawing the heart!
    You’re a great poet. Not joining any of those poetry challenges around?
    🙂

    • Cold Dead Heart January 17, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

      Thanks for reading and the compliment. I think I will finally join some of those poetry challenges.

Leave a Reply

