How Lucky

7 Feb

I know how lucky I am

I have so much

More than most people

I have a daughter who will one

day grow into an amazing adult.

She will continue to skin her knees

and roll her eyes at me, but she will

always know she is loved.

She is fatherless, but I am enough.

I always have been.

I have love in my life.

Not just a convenience or a balm,

but love that has shaken me,

made me question everything I’ve known

about myself and the future laid out before me.

I enjoy what I do.

Not just a job or something to endure,

but I enjoy my participation.

I look in the mirror and can smile at my reflection.

I am finally happy with the adult I grew into.

How lucky I am to be surrounded by such

goodness

I can look at the sorrow

the tragedy that is inevitable

and I can choose not to suffer.

I have stopped running toward something.

I am content to float.

To stop time.

To wait while it unfolds.

How lucky I am.

4 Responses to “How Lucky”

  1. Scotia Nightpoetry February 8, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    Hi,

    Can I just say how very fortunate I feel to be able to read such a beautiful and uplifting piece. The ideas expressed are well thought out and the execution perfect. There are many more people who, having questioned themselves about what their own lives are all about, are not happy with what they find out. I am glad that it is otherwise with you.
    Keep writing – Best wishes, Brian.

  2. Cold Dead Heart February 9, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Thank you Brian. I always appreciate your supportive feedback. I hope you’re happy with the reflection too.

  3. Kavita February 28, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    That’s lovely, my dear!!
    It’s wonderful to realize and appreciate one’s own worth… and I am so happy for you that you were able to see that in yourself… stay thus, my friend…
    “I have stopped running toward something.
    I am content to float.” — those were such beautiful lines…. they really spoke to me!!

    Keep writing, dear friend… and stay happy and content…

  4. Cold Dead Heart March 2, 2011 at 6:47 am #

    Kavita – thank you so much for your kind comments and encouragement. It’s nice to share the contentment.

Leave a Reply

