I asked the question

13 Nov

Death puts everything in front of you in perspective

The question of what you really want becomes prevalent

I sat with my Aunt while she passed

Holding her hand

So young with so much unfinished 

But she found happiness

Her husband was kissing her cheek

His tears falling onto her pale skin

He loved her completely

She didn’t leave this world alone

She left with her heart full of love

With the knowledge of what she left behind

Of who she touched

She left knowing she had what others long for

Looking into the mirror

I asked myself

Who are you?

What do you want?

My answers were no surprise

2 Responses to “I asked the question”

  1. William Lawson November 13, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Yes!

  2. scotianightpoetry November 13, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Heartfelt and heartwarming

Leave a Reply

