Summer Wishes

19 Jan

I dream of summer

Heat pressed against my shoulders

Clothing optional

Oppressive sunshine

I dream of the warmth on my face

As I trudge through the frost

It’s soon

Soon

5 Responses to “Summer Wishes”

  1. maggsworld January 21, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Here in my world it IS summer. The heat sparkles and crackles, and the humidity drips down one’s back even just walking a few hundred yards…. I yearn for crisp kiss of col, icy air nibbling any exposed flesh. Bear in mind, it NEVER snows here, but we know the lick of sometimes cold.

    • Cold Dead Heart January 22, 2012 at 9:04 am #

      I might complain about the cold, but I do wonder if I would like to be somewhere where I never experience winter. We’ve had such a mild one this year, but I know it’s not the normal. There is beauty in the snow and I try to concentrate on that when scraping off my car.

  2. David M. Green January 22, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    After reading “Summer Wishes” this morning I was inspired to write this poem:

    Longing

    During winters cold
    caress my heart dreams of summer
    of making love in
    the midst of gorgeous wild flowers
    beneath blue skies

    My skin longs
    for spring times gentle breezes
    my nose the
    gentle scent of natures beauty
    now in hibernation

    Yet even though
    my heart longs for the demise of
    winter’s chill caress
    yet the gently falling snow is also
    quite lovely

    When at last
    the burning sun seeks to bake me
    like a turkey
    within it’s oven for winters chill
    my heart will long

    Copyright David M. Green January 22, 2012

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Longing | DaPoet's Passion - January 22, 2012

    […] long *Author’s Note this poem was inspired by the post “summer Wishes” posted onColddeadheart’s Blog Rate this: Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Posted in The Man in the […]

Leave a Reply

