Michio Kaku

23 Feb

So last night I went to see a lecture by Michio Kaku.  I could bore you with his advanced theories of the universe and life itself, or I could just let you find him on your own.  Let me also take this moment to expose myself a true blue dork.  I love science.  A total geek.  Proudly flying my nerd flag.  I especially love space and physics even though I understand approximately 10% of it.  

I am a Higgs Boson groupie.  I love everything about it.  I watched the documentary “Atom Smashers”, not once, but three times.  I devour theories of life and the universe like some people do celebrity gossip.  These people, these brainiacs who wildly dream of what might be while awake, are my superstars (no pun intended).  They theorize about the beginnings of us all and dare to believe we can travel beyond what we know.  They don’t just ask why, they ask what if.  

Michio Kaku has been on numerous television shows and I’ve always been a fan.  It was like the Beatles were visiting, when I waited for the lecture to be over and for him to enter the small room where we sat for an off the cuff question and answer session.  If you’ve never heard him lecture, he’s funny and approachable and most of all brilliant.  He’s not just smart, he’s wicked “smaht.”  

It all makes sense when he talks.  He makes you question the world around you, the reality of what is.  His best analogy was of life itself being a bathtub filled with bubbles.  Our universe, the only one we know of, being one of millions of bubbles in the bath.  Who knows what lurks around us.  If there are mirror universes or parallel dopplegangers maybe someday our ancestors will know who they are.  Until then, we can dream of what might be and be reminded how really amazing it is we exist at all.

If you’re not familiar with Dr. Kaku’s work, then you must google him immediately.

9 Responses to “Michio Kaku”

  1. Bill Chance February 23, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    That is so cool – I would love to hear him talk live.

    • Cold Dead Heart February 24, 2012 at 6:34 am #

      He was really amazing. It was better than I thought it would be. He gives you a lot to think about.

  2. whatsupyournose February 24, 2012 at 6:53 am #

    We celebrate “geeks” and “dorks” — We should all celebrate our inner dork.

    • Cold Dead Heart February 24, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      We should celebrate it! It’s our differences that make the world interesting.

  3. morezennow February 24, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    Wasn’t he in “What the Bleep Do We Know?” That movie really opened my eyes. I would’ve loved hearing him in person.

    • Cold Dead Heart February 24, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      Yes..that’s where I first was introduced to his works. He was even better in person.

      • morezennow February 24, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

        You lucky dog! So cool.

  4. njfawcett February 27, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    I am such a science geek too. Quantum physics feels like the very best fantasy novel ever written. Saly, like you, I understand the tiniest percentage of it, and my poor old brain retains even less. I shall have to check out this guy & see if he can help. So far even the delicious Brian Cox hasn’t been able to make me understand relativity for longer than a few seconds. Maybe I’m some kind of super-human, with a brain full of quarks, and that’s why I can’t retain any of the information ..

    • Cold Dead Heart February 27, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      There’s a show on Netflix…How the Universe Works…he’s on there explaining various things that exist in the universe. It’s one of the best shows out there.

Leave a Reply

