Higgs Boson alert

8 Mar

So I’m feeling a little anti-climatic about the Higgs Boson.  I’m on high google alert (code red of course) for the confirmation that this elusive “God particle” exists.  There are hints, there are murmurs and there are numerous emails alerting me to this fact.  I am pins and needles sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for someone, anyone, to say “yes we have found it.”  This spec of dust that begat everything, all the stars and the universe and the very matter that makes us what we are.  Of course, this is just proof that Einstein was right.  E=MC squared (couldn’t find a little 2 to put up there).  From nothing, something can come.  From energy, matter can be made.  This Higgs Boson particle is the existence of the nothing that made the big bang.  

I don’t pretend to know what I’m talking about or even what they’re talking about.  I have forever been fascinated by space and the realm of possibility that there are otherworldly things of which I know nothing.  I cannot even comprehend string theory.  Look it up if you dare.  But what I do enjoy is the search, that desire to dissect and understand our very existence.  I’m not a religious person, but I do believe in things beyond the universe I can see.

So, what happens after Higgs Boson?  Michio Kaku believes we will then look for dark matter.  That invisible net that binds the planets and the stars together.  We are hurtling toward nothingness, but what does it matter anyway?  We only have this brief period of time here.  Then what?  I’m not sure.  I’d like to believe in another universe, in another time, I will be me just smarter.  I won’t return that phone call, I won’t go on that date, but I will still end up where I am.  Content in what I am contributing to the universe.  Content in the love that surrounds me like an invisible dark matter binding my soul and my heart.

So after the Higgs Boson discovery, I will be excited for the next thing and the thing after.  Because I want to know. I want to believe this all means something.

4 Responses to “Higgs Boson alert”

  1. bobleckridge March 9, 2012 at 2:43 am #

    Me too. I don’t know if such a particle will ever be found and if it is I’m pretty sure it won’t “solve everything”. In other words it won’t be an end. It’ll be a beginning of an exploration, a new adventure, another mystery.
    Don’t you love mystery? Don’t you love adventure and discovery? The kind of discovery which reveals new mysteries?
    Exciting huh?
    I love what you’ve written here. There’s meaning in enjoying this adventure, and there’s meaning in the love and joy of sharing it. Thank you for sharing it

    • Cold Dead Heart March 9, 2012 at 8:46 am #

      I so love the mystery. Just when one thing is solved, it’s time to move on to the other. And for me, it really is an intellectual adventure that takes you out of yourself and makes you think about bigger things.

      Thanks for your comments, and here’s to more mysteries!

  2. The Nate Gatsby March 9, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Is this something new? I thought I read somewhere within the last 30 days or so that they were like 98% sure that it didn’t exist.

    • Cold Dead Heart March 10, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      They will be making an announcement before Summer they have found it. Fermilab has discovered it in the data they received while their collider was still operational.

Leave a Reply

