Mieze’s Musings – # 9

25 Mar

There are simple pleasures in life I’ve discovered.  A scratch from a gentle hand on my belly.  A ruffling of the fur between my ears.  Cold water that suddenly appears out of a spigot.  

Photo by the man I own

I don’t understand why more cats have not discovered this revelation.  We are smart creatures.  We truly do like to think of things that make our life easier.  But I can’t seem to convince the others that the more adorable they are the more luxury the receive.  I’ve now trained the kindly woman and man who own me that every time I sit on the edge of the silver tub to turn on the water.  

Photo by the man I own

They stand and watch me, amused by the new trick I’ve learned.  When I was younger I might have bristled at the thought of performing for them.  I was an independent sort, always trotting out of the house without a thought of when I would return.  I used to look back at the woman standing in the door, and sometimes I would think I might miss her.  Then one day she was not at home.  Then another.  Then another.  The man would come check on me and feed me, and that is when I began realizing how bleak a cat existence would be if not for someone to scratch my chin or rub against.  When the woman came home, I felt happy and that is when I realized I could make her happy too.  

Photo by the man I own

Now when the woman seems sad, I jump on the counter and wait for the water.  It makes her smile and laugh.  A bonus is that I get to lap up all that cold delicious water.  But also I get to see the joy she gets just because I’m with her.  It’s my way of showing her that I’m appreciative.  It’s the least a cat can do.  

It’s a shame more humans don’t know about this.

 

2 Responses to “Mieze’s Musings – # 9”

  1. deanjbaker April 1, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    lovely cat – good to find you

    • Cold Dead Heart April 1, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      The cat says thank you…he’s quite smitten with himself. Good to find you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

