Bats in my Bellfry

4 Jun

19 Responses to “Bats in my Bellfry”

  1. jmgoyder June 4, 2012 at 7:22 am #

    Are these yours???Q!!!

    • Cold Dead Heart June 4, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      They are not mine 🙂 They are courtesy of the Indianapolis Zoo.

      • jmgoyder June 4, 2012 at 8:18 am #

        Rather sweet in a hideous way – hehe!

  2. robertvarga79 June 4, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    Batmannnn…

  3. My Journey into Art June 4, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    I have been in that zoo and probably seen the same bats…a quick tour in and out. :0) Great picture.

  4. unclerave June 4, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    These are big ‘uns! Fascinating creatures, bats. We’re still having a problem in the Northeast, with a white fungus killing off the brown bats.

    — YUR

    • Cold Dead Heart June 5, 2012 at 8:58 am #

      Yeah, when I lived in the Northeast, I remembered hearing about the white fungus. It’s really tragic.

  5. kiwidutch June 4, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Cool photo!
    My parents had fruit bats in their garden in the Solomon Islands (actually they were everywhere) and I saw one that had died, we were told it was an adult bat but it was tiny!

    Otherwise since they were nocturnal and the tropical rainforest was almost solid, we never saw them,… but what they lacked in being seen, they made up for in being heard… every night! VERY noisy!

    Your bats are huge in comparison but I think they are all gorgeous… this wings are so paper thin and the radar so amazing I think they are a miracle of nature.

    • Cold Dead Heart June 5, 2012 at 8:57 am #

      I’m just fascinated with bats. I had them in my back yard in RI and would go out at dusk every night and watch them feed. Great creatures and thank you for the compliment on the photo 🙂

  6. The Hook June 4, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    Very literal post, young woman!

  7. Perfecting Motherhood June 4, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    The San Diego Safari Park just created a new bat exhibit and we really like it. Bats are very cool animals to observe.

    • Cold Dead Heart June 5, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Yeah, I was just at the Cincinnati Zoo and they had a great bat exhibit. Apparently I’m on a zoo tour this year.

  8. Jeff Whelan June 5, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    Hey now! You’ve been nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award! Check it out at http://jeffwhelan.wordpress.com/ and do with it what you will. Cheers!

    • Cold Dead Heart June 5, 2012 at 8:42 am #

      Awwww thanks so much! I appreciate the nom and congrats on yours 🙂

      • Jeff Whelan June 6, 2012 at 1:09 am #

        Very welcome! You deserve it!

  9. magzmama June 9, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    I love those suckers. Anything that eats mosquitos are a-okay with me! Beautiful picture (and a great blog too!)

    • Cold Dead Heart June 10, 2012 at 11:15 am #

      Thank you! Yes, I love bats too. People don’t realize how much they control the bug population.

Leave a Reply

