All I can give

11 Jun

 

 

All I can give

is the me that is left

Scar tissued

and aged

Try so hard to be open

To be unphased

To be present

All I can give

is everything

damaged, but not gone

All I want

Is the same in return

 

 

27 Responses to “All I can give”

  1. kevmoore June 11, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    Beautiful – but moreover, perhaps a basic human truth.

    • Cold Dead Heart June 11, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      Thank you…The picture just reminded me of how we’re all broken in our own little ways from our experiences and how we hope anyway.

      • kevmoore June 11, 2012 at 9:46 am #

        Hope is the engine that drives us, and I think we gain strength from the sum of our experiences, be they good or bad, even though they sometimes seem to break us.

      • Cold Dead Heart June 11, 2012 at 11:40 am #

        That’s very true…I’d like to think I’m very bendable now..not breakable.

      • kevmoore June 11, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

        That’s a nice thought. Enjoying your blog!

  2. Nowan Zen June 11, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Scars are proof that we still life within to live and share. We pick up the pieces of our lives and create a whole new beautiful mosaic.

    • Cold Dead Heart June 11, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      I like that all my experiences have made me who I am. Somedays I like her more than others, but I always appreciate how far I’ve come.

      • Nowan Zen June 11, 2012 at 9:41 am #

        The pieces of your mosaic are creating such a wonderful picture.

        Were it not for somedays, we wouldn’t appreciate how far we’ve come.

  3. Todd Lohenry June 11, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    Oh, dear! Unfortunately for me I feel I need to get to the point where I can give without expecting the same in return; to give as an extension of being. When I expect in return, I run the risk of feeding my codependency…

    • Cold Dead Heart June 11, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      I used to think giving selflessly was the way life should be. Until I realized I’m only human by having my own needs. I don’t think you have to be selfish…but I think it took me a while to figure out I can want and need and it’s okay. Sometimes you need nourishment from all the giving.

  4. unclerave June 11, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Very cool, lady.

  5. wordwand June 11, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    lovely WELL DONE KEEP IT UP.

  6. The Hook June 11, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    What you have to give… is brilliant!

  7. magzmama June 11, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    Love this. Really beautiful and to the point.

    • Cold Dead Heart June 11, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      Thanks so much…sometimes I just let them right themselves.

      • magzmama June 12, 2012 at 10:07 am #

        That’s the best way to let those creative juices flow, don’t you think? I have to turn off that stupid little judge in my brain when I write!

      • Cold Dead Heart June 12, 2012 at 10:25 am #

        Yes, that’s the only way I can write. I just have to let it out and try not to censor or edit myself. Sometimes it’s just pure nonsense.

  8. jmgoyder June 11, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    Wise stuff!

    • Cold Dead Heart June 12, 2012 at 8:13 am #

      Thank you! I sincerely hope I’m getting wiser as I get older.

  9. sammyj001 June 12, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    words that provoke thought

  10. fiveloaf June 14, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    tq for always liking my posting. you are a fine writer yourself.

  11. Chris June 16, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    I really love this poem.

  12. butimbeautiful July 9, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Sad poem, but well put.

Leave a Reply

