I’m Winging it in the Rain

18 Jun

I had forgotten one of the benefits of living more South than North is summer storms.  Yesterday, with the sun out, the thunder rolled in and the sky opened and rain fell in a torrential downpour.  Rather than take shelter inside, I walked along the field, feeling the warm rain on my face and felt cleansed from the inside out.  I have learned in the years that have passed me by that it really is the simple things that make me happy.

I think about the scars of a life lived that no longer define me.  They are simply a conversation piece of who I’ve been.  Who I am is much more complicated and less defined than the marks of what has come before.  I’m an evolving being, adapting to the landscape that is sometimes more foreign than a strange planet.  I did not think my journey would lead me here, but I like the scenery.

So, I’m happy.  It took me a while to get here.  I still fret over the superficial things, but I don’t dwell on them.  I’ve become brave in my attempts to maximize what life I do have stretched out before me.  I take chances on things that in the past would have frightened me.  It’s a cliché to say with age comes wisdom, although I don’t always feel smarter.  I just know better.

Which means I’ll walk leisurely in the rain and smile.  I will consider that a moment of pure joy.  I like to collect those moments like beads.  I’ll bring them out like a prayer mala when the harshness of life reminds me that it isn’t all rain in the sunshine.

Pretty profound for a Monday morning, but I’m on my second cup of coffee.  Caffeine makes me introspective and apparently quite deep.  At least in my addled mind.

7 Responses to “I’m Winging it in the Rain”

  1. Perfecting Motherhood June 19, 2012 at 12:35 am #

    I love letting the warm summer rain wash away my burdens, worries, or confused thoughts. There’s something very soothing about letting nature take care of you.

  2. Taochild June 19, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    One of the most refreshing natural wonders … a warm summer’s rain …

    • Cold Dead Heart June 19, 2012 at 10:03 am #

      Isn’t it just wonderful. I’m going to make a point to play in every one of them 🙂

      • Taochild June 19, 2012 at 10:58 am #

        Have to admit, I am a bit jealous haha

  3. Howard Meyerson June 19, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Nice.

Leave a Reply

